Earthquake!

Hey guys!

    I just wanted to let everyone know I am okay! The earthquake that hit this morning started in the Nicoya Peninsula; for those that aren’t sure where that is, it’s the peninsula that stems from the Nicaraguan border of the country about 90 miles from the city I’m living in. Scientists are saying the quake was about 25 miles deep, reaching almost 7.9 on the Richter scale. But by the time the tremors hit here, they weren’t too bad. The floor literally made a wave-like motion for about one minute. The only close casualty was our flat-screen in the living room, but my Tico Dad wasn’t letting that go down. My hopes and prayers go out to all of our other families we stayed with in Guanacaste. I hope it wasn’t too bad for all of them.

   The only concern meteorologists have is the tsunami that may have spurred off the Pacific coast of the country heading towards islands like Australia or Japan, but us here in Costa Rica are perfectly fine!

   Thanks to everyone for the emails, texts, calls, messages, posts, tweets, and every other form of communication everyone’s been trying to get ahold of me from. I appreciate it all.

Until next time, hopefully on a lighter note…

Pura Vida.

6 thoughts on “Earthquake!

  1. Happy Birthday Jessica! Hope you’re enjoying your bday there! You are missed and I hope your 22nd year holds all the possibility and promise that your 21st did! 🙂

  2. Hola Jessica!!!! I just heard that it is your birthday today! I hope you experience an international birthday like no other!!!! Beunos Dias, Brent Reeves, Director of Multicultural Affairs at McKendree

Leave a Reply

