Coolest Weekend of My Life. No Doubt.

Hello again,

We packed our bags and decided to embark on some adventures a couple of weekends ago. We went to Mounteverde Cloud Forest. For those of you who don’t know what a cloud forest is, it’s a town located basically at the top of a mountain. So we were standing in the clouds the entire time we were there. Crazy to think we were that high!

Anyhoo, we knew we were going to be spending a fairly a good amount of money on excursions, so we decided to rough it a bit and find a hostel to sleep in. We ended up finding the coolest, sweetest family who have dedicated their lives to running their hostel. It was $7 a night per person, and we (group of 5 girls) slept in our own room with bunk beds and a bathroom across the hall. Included in the $7 fee was an awesome breakfast every morning: coffee/tea, cereal, eggs, fruit, toast.. the whole kitchen if we wanted it. It was amazing. There is was a husband, a wife, their two boys, daughter, and her little puppy “Candi.” Also, the husband, Ronny, helped us book everything we wanted to do, we paid him (at a discounted rate ;)), he paid the companies, made reservations for us, and made sure we had transportation. Needless to say, it was an amazing place to stay, and well worth more than $7.

So during the weekend we were there, we decided to go ziplining, canyoning down waterfalls, and on a night hike.

Ziplining, first of all was an experience unlike any other. Flying through the tree tops, literally right next to monkeys, hundreds of feet about the air, seeing the clouds fly past you.. I can’t even describe the feeling it gives you. You’re one with nature. Alone in the trees, flying. No one can take that away from you. I loved every minute of it.

canyoning, for those of you unfamiliar with the term (because I was when I signed up, lol) means you harness yourself up, and rappel down waterfalls along a river. I was unprepared for this adventure, but once it started, it was the coolest thing I’ve ever done in my life. We had a 15-year-old boy, 16-year-old boy, and their uncle giving us our tour, so you can only imagine the perverted and hormonal jokes they were making. It was hilarious. The boys spoke perfect English, and Martin, the 15-year-old, somehow landed his hands on a “Boobies” bracelet. Anyyyyways, they showed us how we were going to propel by demonstrating on a tree, and we were off. I didn’t exactly think it was enough direction at the time, and I was probably right. I had no idea what I was doing, but after the first little rapel you get the hang of it. All of the waterfalls were about 20 feet, which was fun… until we walked up to a waterfall and I couldn’t see the bottom. My next feat would be conquering a 150 ft waterfall. Yes. 150ft. Once you start, you don’t stop. I started rapelling a little bit, and once I got around one of the rocks, I looked down. SUPER smart. I was surprised I wasn’t scared though. I got this huge adrenaline rush, and was so excited to keep going. Once I reached the bottom, looked up, and realized what I just did, I was so excited for myself. That was seriously one of the coolest things I have ever done.

However, at the end when I was all pumped up, Martin looks at me, with his smart-alleck look and goes…

“All those waterfalls you just went down, we now have to hike back up.”

I could have smacked that stupid little smirk off his face. Besides that dreadful hike, the whole experience was awesome.

Last but certainly not least, we went on a night hike with a tour guide that I think was, quite possibly, the smartest man in the world. We saw animals like toucans (even though all the birds were sleeping), viper snakes, porcupines in trees, armadillos, crazy bugs, A TARANTULA, and a bunch more that I couldn’t tell you the names of if I tried. They say the night-time is the best time to see a lot of the animals, and they were right! It was kind of creepy walking at night, but Josh, our guide, knew exactly where he was going in the dead of night.

The morning after, me and some of the girls got up and went hiking for a little bit. We found these trees (the Ficas that I told you about early) but they were almost completely hollow in the middle. With the different vines and branches that weave in and out of the trees, you’re able to climb up, through the middle of the tree, almost all the way to the top. It was so much fun, slightly scary at times, but definitely an experience.

If I can recommend a trip to Costa Rica to anyone, besides all the beautiful beaches and crazy night life, I would recommend going to Monte Verde. It was one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen.

Pura Vida 🙂

3 thoughts on “Coolest Weekend of My Life. No Doubt.

  1. That truly does sound like the best weekend of a life time. You are so lucky! I don’t think I’ll be doing any of this anytime soon unfortunately, because I am a chicken…there is really no excuse. But maybe some day! I
    m glad you had fun though! You have some of the most interesting stories I have ever read. Thanks again for sharing them with us, especially us chickens.

Leave a Reply

