Dichos a.k.a Sayings

   As I’m learning the language here, you can imagine I’m learning some Costarican slang and sayings so I thought I’d share a couple fun ones with you, and some that make absolutely no sense!

“Mae” pronouced like my .. is probably the most common word used in the vocabulary of a Tico. It basically translates to “dude” and it used after almost every other word here lol.

“Mae, fuimos al mercado mae. Me gusta su vestida mae. Mae, vamos a la discoteca mae! Mae! Mae! Mae!

I find myself saying it sometimes… weird. I suppose that’s part of the whole experience.

They also say “digamos” which translates literally to “we say” in place of when we, in english would say “um” or “uh.”

I think the strangest saying I’ve heard was “Manda huevos,” which translates word for word to “send me eggs.” Here they use to to express the word “please” but in more of a begging-type motion. It’s kind of like when you’re begging your mom to buy you something, or your friend to take you somewhere. They will say “Mae, manda huevos maeeeeee!” with sad puppy dog eyes. It’s quite comical actually. However, the first time someone said it to me, and I didn’t know what it meant, my response was, “What? I don’t have eggs??”  HA! I almost died laughing when I learned what it really meant.

     After that whole scene, I tried to think if we had any random phrases that made absolutely no sense if you translated them in english, and I couldn’t think of any! So, I ask you all! Can you think of any random phrases that we say that couldn’t be literally translated and make sense?

Leave some love!

Until next time 🙂

One thought on “Dichos a.k.a Sayings

  1. “Pretty Please”, “Beating Around The Bush”, “Up the Creek without A Paddle”, “It’s raining cats and dogs”, “a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush”, “make no bones about it”, “there’s more than one way to skin a cat”…..and my most favorite Kentucky-ism “dumb as a door-nail”

Leave a Reply

